new, exciting, upcoming project

It’s so exciting !!!  I’m signed up to take part in a swap.  My first patchwork swap ever – yay! 

sans-titre

This is Kate and Sue’s baby, born the summer of last year.  From June 2015 – May 2016 there were 12 ladies, industriously patchworking and having fun making and sending each other 12.5” blocks.  At the end of the 12 months, the plan being, that each lady has 36 magnificent blocks to assemble and make a super dooper quilt, or turn blocks into smaller projects if she so chooses.

I followed that swap avidly . . . regretting not having signed up for it, but then again, slightly relieved I hadn’t because ladies’ patchwork skills were all very impressive. 

Anyway, it was such a success, and ladies had so much fun, that Kate decided to launch the swap for a second time.  And, of course, I signed up.

There will be nine ladies in the swap this time but we’ll still be making three blocks a month.  It will run from June 2016 – February 2017.  Each lady has already chosen her colour scheme.  Kate’s husband did the draw, to decide who become the “Miss” each month (I’m Miss February 2017).  And I have already begun some naughty fabric buying (shhhh) as well as taking the opportunity to tidy up my fabric stash and see what can be used for the swap.

My choice of colours is very bright.  I have asked for bright blue, green and orange, with this picture of some Australian Rainbow Lorikeets as my inspiration.

P043090068Bq-660

Some of you may remember that I stitched a design by Fiona Jude a long while back

IMGP7452

The “Plan” with a capital P . . . will hopefully be, to have some gorgeous vibrant blocks to sew together and make a patchwork . . . and then finish these fellows off into a matching cushion cover ^^  They are a lot brighter than in the photo . . . very much like the real ones in the first photo. 

I have also added links to the participants blogs (see right bar on screen).  One of the ladies does not have a blog.

Anyway . . . I have to be patient a little while longer. Ladies are currently still busy sewing to finish the first year’s swap.  But come 1st June, I will be in the starting blocks !

Kate has already commenced a new blog which will be dedicated to the 2nd version of F2F.  Which you will be able to visit here: F2F2