hen news

Lily of the Valley is the traditional flower in France, on 1st May, but I’m posting a photo of our Iris instead.  Difficult to believe we’re already four months down into the year now!

Anyway, I thought I’d also catch up and share news on hens.

We currently have the same 3 gals from when I last gave news of hens. Doris, Rita and Agatha are their names . . . they were bought back in Sept 2021, as 20 week olds . . . which means they’re now over 3 years old and most definitely past their prime when it comes to egg laying. In fact, I don’t think we’ve ever had such a lazy bunch of hens as this lot!  They all began a massive moult together last autumn and egg laying stopped. No eggs at all over the winter. And currently, we’re lucky if we collect a total of 20 eggs a month.

It’s not as if they don’t have things to do and space to roam, as above photos show.  They’ve just all slowed down on the egg laying simulataneously.  So . . . I’ve been on the phone with the people we buy our hens from, and will be adding three new gals to the coop later this month.  I’ll keep you posted!

7 thoughts on “hen news

  1. That does seem early to slow the egg production down so much. Perhaps some new gals will give the current ones a boost when they see how it’s done.

    • I’m actually wondering whether the old gals are too well fed? At any rate, 20 eggs a month isn’t good enough lol.

  2. I too realised this morning thatwe are a third of the way through the year! I wish the weather would realise it is high time it was Spring -we are back to grey damp gloom! I shall look forward to seeing your new hens.

  3. Our older girls are a bit off the lay at present as they’ve been going through a moult one after the other. But when they do lay, the eggs are enormous! The two young girls are laying well, smaller brown eggs with extremely sturdy shells. I think a fresh batch of younger hens is a very good plan.

  4. Your irises are glowing beautiful.
    Your hens are pretty. I bet they’re fun to watch even if they’re not productive.
    I look forward to seeing your new gals. 🐔🐔🐔

Leave a comment