can’t get enough of Hélène’s mystery SALs

SALS Jan-July

This year I just can’t seem to get enough of Hélène & Mahélia’s mystery SALs!  For those of you who follow my blog regularly, you’ll have seen all of the above this year. 

In January, it was the cute skiing snowman that I finished off as a tree decoration. February was a blushing angel. March was a bunny.  April was a mother and her baby.  There was no mystery SAL in May, but in June Hélène had us stitching a child on his father’s shoulders, and in July a very oriental design with bird and blossoms.  The owl on a branch is one of the bonus designs that Hélène sends out to stitchers who complete her SALs. Not only do you have the pleasure of stitching the mystery SAL design, but you receive an exclusive freebie chart at the end of each one!

In August it was a little too hot to be stitching, so I gave that one a miss. And in September, for some reason, I missed the start of the SAL, so just followed other ladies’ progress on Hélène’s blog. However, when I saw the finished design, I was kicking myself, because it was simply gorgeous.  I therefore asked Hélène if I could stitch it late, and she said “of course”.

The October SAL is already underway, and I’m going to be stitching that too . . . but first, I began September and so far September’s mystery SAL looks like this

SAL Sept 01 Claire

SAL Sept 02 Claire

Some very pretty summery colours . . . next up, some pink and the colour of my choice.  I’ll show you more photos very very soon.

For those of you who are tempted . . . Hélène’s SALs are open to everyone and she does speak & write excellent English, so don’t be shy.  New SALs are always announced at the beginning of the month, with thread requirements, stitch count, dates of each stage, and the first part is always available on her blog. 

Rules are simple: you stitch part one, send Hélène a photo and she sends you part two etc. The only thing she asks is: a) that you respect dates for publication of photos on your blogs/social media (so as not to spoil the surprise for others) and b) that you only publish a photo of the finished piece once it has been “finished” (ie, framed, made into something).

If anyone is interested, the October SAL has begun. You can find part one here: October SAL part one.  You just need to leave a comment to “sign up” and click on the link to open chart. 

6 thoughts on “can’t get enough of Hélène’s mystery SALs

  1. Lovely stitching! I especially like the owl on the branch. I admire you for having the patience to stick with this – I’m not very good at “challenges” 😉

  2. Awwww … After reading such an article about all of this, I DO fell very moved !!!
    Thanks a lot Claire … it warms me up, as it’s getting colder outside !!!
    I do love your work as well, how you find a good idea to mix SAL and something useful.
    Juki and you are great !!! 😉

Leave a comment