“AMITIE” – a new chupin’s Xstitch stitched for an exchange.

I signed myself up for a “friendship” exchange on a forum – idea being to make a little friendship cushion and send before 14th February. I did have some suitable charts in my stash but thought it would be fun to chart my own design for the occasion.  I was stitching for Michou whose favourite colours are brown and orange . . . so those are the two colours I used. Or more precisely, two French hand-dyed threads: “Feuille vole” by Pomme de Pin for the more solid brown and “pain d’épices” by Les Fils du Rhin for the lighter, more varied, colour.

Once assembled, I suddenly had a doubt – the word “AMITIE” (meaning friendship) is written “amitié” in small case letters, with an accent on the “e” but I didn’t add the accent to my “E” because I was unsure what the rule is. Some French friends have told me that capital letters don’t need the accent, and others have said they do . . . so basically there doesn’t seem to be a general consensus on this spelling question. Too late for my cushion though.

If you’d like a copy of the chart, in pdf form, click on the link

FREE amitié tout simplement

It’s not quite a square shape and measures 60 x 58 stitches.  I have included several colour variations on the chart, because I realise that brown and orange isn’t the obvious choice for everyone. And I’ll leave it up to you to decide whether you add the accent or not  ^^

And here’s what I received from Michou – what lovely work she does ^^  A lovely cushion in MY colours, with the brightest fabric you’ve ever seen on the back AND two hand-stitched bookmarks for my ever-increasing collection.

3 thoughts on ““AMITIE” – a new chupin’s Xstitch stitched for an exchange.

Leave a comment