feathers & sugar skulls

Photo of my latest tunic, which will be going straight in the wardrobe, and won’t be worn until next year.

feather tunic

Made using NewLook 6086 (again) because I needed a pattern with the front piece cut on the fold, so I didn’t have to worry about pattern matching.  A very simple tunic, with slits up both sides.  Only 3 pattern pieces and then binding for neck and armholes.  I’ve still got loads of feather fabric left . . . but never fear, it won’t go to waste!

And, just so my cross stitching followers don’t think I’ve given up on cross stitch of late . . .

IMGP3590

This is the small project I’m currently working on.  “Sugar Skull” a Design Works Craft Inc kit.  It came with 14 count aida, but I’m stitching on 20 count, still in 2 threads, to keep colours very vibrant and have the design stitch up a lot smaller.  On 20 count, skull is going to measure 3.5” x 4.5” (as opposed to 5” x 7”). I’m not really sure what I’m going to do with it when it’s finished . . . I just like the design, which is why I bought it!

17 thoughts on “feathers & sugar skulls

  1. Ooh! Now I do like that feathery fabric tunic. I admire your readiness for next spring although I’m hoping for a bit more of the hot stuff yet – I was sweltering in a long sleeved t-shirt yesterday although it’s drizzly today 😦

  2. Very, very pretty tunic. I wouldn’t have your strength of mind, I’d be wearing it anyway, never mind the weather! I must get my box of patterns out again, the hot weather’s on its way down here.

  3. Gorgeous top – I knew that fabric would make a lovely top when you showed it to us a few weeks ago. Love your cross stitch skull – I also haven’t picked up any cross stitch for a long while – you’ve inspired me, I might go and dig out my latest UFO……. 😀

Leave a Reply

