zippy fun – how to

Way back in February, I showed you a monster zippy pouch I had made, following a pattern in a French magazine.

magazine

green monster

I then went on to make more of the same, in different colours . . . and they were so much fun, I made some more!  Now, I don’t want to write a full-flung tutorial, since I don’t want to infringe on any copyright.  But I thought, I could at least show you some step-by-step photos, in case you were tempted to try this yourself.  I sewed by machine, but these could be sewn by hand, if you don’t have a machine.

I won’t give measurements, since it all depends on what size zip you use.  I’ll just say that I used a 5” zip and an A4 sized piece of felt for my main colour. Here is how easy it is.

First . . . you’ll need a zip, one piece of contrasting felt, a small piece of white felt cut into 2 circles (I cut mine free hand), two buttons, and (optional) a short length of ribbon.  I cut my felt in half, and then one of those halves in half again.

zippy 01

zippy 02

zippy 03

Don’t forget to open the zip before sewing front to back (right sides together) so you can turn it the right way out.

zippy 04

Next, you play around with your buttons.  Depending on where you place them, you can totally change the expression of your zippy monster . . . like this

zippy 05

like this

zippy 07

or like this

zippy 09

I find these zippy pouches great fun to make.  They’re quick and inexpensive to make . . . and I think they make fun gifts.

15 thoughts on “zippy fun – how to

  1. Every time I see them they make me smile 😊 and I see mine everyday so I smile often! They are so cute and I love how you can just make them any colour and give them their own personalities

Leave a Reply

