Ducky’s home

IMGP3411

I wanted to share the glad tidings with everyone – Ducky is home!

He had disappeared on Sunday 6th, although a neighbour is positive he saw Ducky on the Monday afternoon.  We’d been searching and calling until we were blue in the face. Looking in all the probable and most improbable places.  I printed out flyers which I distributed in every letter box in the vicinty as well as the on-line ad and ads with the local vet. We asked all neighbours to have a good look in their homes and out-houses/barns etc.  I even went and rang on the door of the local château and asked the “Châtelaine” if she would give us permission to explore her 2 hectares of dense woodland.  Permission which was given, so husband and myself spent a couple of hours in wellie boots, with big sticks, fighting our way through the over-grown undergrowth. 

And then this morning, who should come scratching at the door?  Yep, Ducky.  Not a scratch on him, a little bit thinner and very hungry, but apart from that, he’s fine.  He obviously managed to get himself locked in somewhere and was freed or escaped this morning. 

So big sigh of relief here!  He’s been fed, had lots of cuddles, and I’m hoping he’ll now curl up somewhere indoors and sleep.  But then again, if he’s been trapped inside for the last few days & nights, he’s probably going to want to go out. 

38 thoughts on “Ducky’s home

  1. Oh, I am so happy to hear this! All your asking people to open things up must have paid off. My guess is he will stick close to food for a while. Give him a cuddle for me. 🙂

  2. So happy to hear that Ducky made it home!! I enjoy reading your posts about your pets as much as I enjoy seeing all the things you make. Seeing yours and Avis’s progress on the SAL inspired me to start my own Inkcircles project. Happy hugs to Ducky.

    • it was! and I realise, if we had an enclosure like you, we wouldn’t have to go through it all BUT (in capitals) we live in the countryside, with lots of fairly safe space for cats to roam in, and we have to trust them to look after themselves. Ducky has survived this incident, let’s hope he learns from it!

      • We’re in completely different environments. If I was in a safer area I’d let my cats have more freedom too.
        Hopefully Ducky will be more careful in future 🙂

    • what we don’t do for our pets, eh, Peggy? We paid out almost 2000€ in vet bills to save Le Bleu’s leg when he was involved in traffic accident more than 7 years ago. And if we had to do it again, we would.

      • I agree Claire. My Sami is worth all I can scrap up. I keep telling her she needs to find a job but we haven’t found any positions where she can sleep and play all day and have ice water in her bowl at all times. 🙂

  3. That´s the worst part with cats. They just disappears and you don´t know where. Then, if you are lucky, they come home as if nothing has happened. Some times I wish I was a fly and could follow them on their adventure! I´m glad Ducky came home safe 🙂

Leave a Reply

