“such fun!”–happy dancing

F2F2 finished 01

One of my favourite quotes (for all you Miranda fans) . . . and photos of “such fun!”, made with blocks from the F2F2 swap, organised by Kate

Those who follow my blog will remember this adventure began in June last year, when I joined a block swap, and spent 9 months, making and posting blocks to other ladies in their chosen colourways.  Until it was my turn, in February.  My colour inspiration was

Claire

And I think you’ll agree that the finished quilt as just as bright and colourful as these Rainbow Lorikeets.  A big thank you to Kate, the organiser.  But also to Lynn, Sandra, Sue, Susan, Moira, Gun, Esther who were the other official members of the swap.  And a thank you to Avis, who made and sent 3 blocks for my birthday, so I would have a total of 30 blocks for this patchwork.

It’s big.  It’s the biggest I’ve ever made.  Finishing up at 87” x 73” (that’s 220cm x 185cm).

F2F2 finished 02

F2F2 finished 03

I added 1” orange sashing to each block before quilting and did the assembly using the QAYG (quilt as you go) method.  Using a splodgy/dotty print fabric on the back and repeating the orange bands.   Each block was quilted differently, by machine, and each block has the name of the maker embroidered on it, very discreetly, in orange thread.  That way, in the years to come, I’ll remember exactly who made what.

F2F2 finished 04

So there you have it!  The swap was a wonderful learning experience, helped boost my confidence and really was “such fun!”.

22 thoughts on ““such fun!”–happy dancing

  1. It looks brilliant! Fabulous colours, and having all the different makers means you’ve got a really good variety of blocks. Beautifully assembled and finished, too, and the name is perfect. I hope if we resurrect F2F you’ll join up again, as you were a real asset to the group 🙂

  2. It’s fabulous Claire – I love the idea of the embroidered names and wish I’d thought of it :/
    I hope F2F is resurrected in the future as it was a real test of my existing patchwork skills and a great way to develop some new ones.
    Well done on the lovely finish.

Leave a Reply

