my little helper

Just wanted to let you know that I’ll be having a happy dance in the next few days, depending on how much help I get from my little helper.

Claires little helper 01

Yep, that’s my F2F2 quilt you can see on my lap.  All quilted, assembled and with binding machine sewn on.  More than 300 inches of binding.  And I’m now on the last stage of hand-sewing the binding to the back.

Claire little helper 02

Don’t I look enthralled?  lol.  It’s not so much the (more than) 300 inches of hand sewing that’s the problem.  It’s my little helper.  Le Bleu seems to think this quilt is fine and finished, just as it is.  And not helping at all.  My husband’s reaction is “Just push him off!” but awwwww  he looks so peaceful.

Meanwhile . . . photo of another of our cats.

IMGP3335

Yup, Ducky, who still looks as if he lost a fight with a mini lawn mower.  Fur seems to be taking ages to grow back!  It’s been 3 weeks since the operation.

IMGP3336

Now that the scar has healed, it’s almost invisible, but you can still distinctly see the two darker marks of the nasty cat teeth that bit him.  All that will be a thing of the past, once fur grows.

10 thoughts on “my little helper

  1. A quilt on your lap while you’re sewing down binding is a cat magnet! I’m never comfortable with the idea of pushing a cat off my lap – so binding sometimes takes a lot longer than it should. Fur does seem to take a long time to grow back, but eventually it will and you’ll all be able to forget about that nasty cat bite!

  2. I’ve never known a cat that didn’t feel you were paying too much attention to your handwork and would zoom straight onto your lap to receive his rightful share… 300 inches is a lot of hand stitching, but I love that last stage, the peaceful finishing that gives you time to remember the making, the ideas, the people involved. I’m looking forward to adding this one to the gallery!

  3. I remember as a teen I hated any hand stitching, and now that I’m mature, it is a nice way to spend an evening….LOL, funny how our attitudes change! I am looking forward to the final reveal here, this has been a delightful quilt from start to finish. 😍

    • how on earth do you stop cats from going upstairs???
      Gibbs stays downstairs, but cats, well, they’re cats lol, they have completely taken over the rest of the house, including our bedroom, spare bedroom and my sewing room.

Leave a Reply

