cool enough to knit

After sweltering for most of May and June, temperatures suddenly fell, from low 30s°C to 17°C and we’re left wondering where summer had gone to.  Mr Meteo reassures us, temps will rise again soon, over the coming days/weeks . . . but I decided to make the most of the cooler weather while it was here and do some more knitting.

My sweater got stuffed in my knitting bag looking like this

knitting 03

A few knitting sessions later and it now looks like this

knitting 0107

Colours are much prettier/brighter in real life. For some reason I’m having problems taking a decent photo.  Anyway . . . as you can see, the front of my sweater is coming along in leaps and bounds.  I’ve begun decreasing to shape armholes.  Was rather pleased when I laid both front and back on the floor, to note that my stripes all line up nicely, which means tension is good. 

Future progress is going to depend entirely on the weather.  If it stays cold & damp, I’ll be knitting.  If it suddenly hots up again, I’ll be crocheting.  Either way, my hands will be busy making something!

17 thoughts on “cool enough to knit

  1. And here’s me enjoying the nice ‘cool’ weather we’re having this winter: 24°C! Your jumper is coming on by leaps and bounds: I hope you’re taking care of your back while you knit!

    • go on rub it in lol. Actually, I’m quite enjoying the cooler weather, and am not going to complain (too much). It’s more our crops I’m worried about. Don’t want things spoiling in the veggie patch because of all the unexpected rain when crops are needing sun.

  2. We’re experiencing the same drop in temperatures south of you. I’ve been enjoying it with knitting too! Your sweater is coming along very nicely!

    • thank you Tony. The silver lining is, I can always find something suitable to keem me busy whether the weather be cold, or whether the weather be hot lol.

  3. We had that last week, but it is firing up again, so we mY escape to the mountains later this week. The sweater is really coming along. It is so hard to knit wool in the heat isn’t it?!

  4. It’s coming along so nicely Claire!! We’ve been having some very warm weather here, but there is a spot on my living room couch where the air conditioner is blowing an arctic breeze straight on it – this is where I sit when I’m crocheting larger things. I like to bring smaller projects outside and find a nice shady spot. 🙂

    • yes I like to crochet Under the parasol in the garden, but for knitting, I prefer to do that indoors as my ball of yarn tends to roll all over the place.

Leave a Reply

