F2F2 blocks – quilting has begun!

Some rather exciting news to share with you . . . orange sashing has been added to all 30 blocks, and now quilting has actually begun!  Yay!  I’m rather amazed myself, at how motivated I am to get these blocks all assembled and made into a huge quilt.

But motivated I am!  Also somewhat scared . . . because the quilting stage is where things can go wrong.  I’m more of a piecer, where patchwork goes.  Not a very proficient quilter, and this project is even more scarey because I’m quilting so many gorgeous blocks made by other ladies.

quilting 6 down

For the moment, I have done six of the thirty.  Here they are (three from Lynn and three from Kate).  They’ve each got a little label pinned on to remind me of where they belong in my layout.  I’m quilting in orange thread and keeping things very simple.  A fair amount of echo quilting going on.  Some in the ditch.  And a very relaxed “let’s see what happens here” design.

quilting 6 down 01

Don’t know if you can see, but I’ve got a sort of “maze/labyrinth” thing going on on a couple, which seems to be working quite well.  Basically, each block will be quilted differently, depending on what the block pattern inspires, and within my limitations. 

In case you’re wondering – I cut wadding & backing fabric slightly bigger, and only trimmed once I’d quilted each block.  I’m using the QAYG method, so the plan is to quilt all 30, make sure they all measure the same, and then assemble with thin strips. 

15 thoughts on “F2F2 blocks – quilting has begun!

  1. I love what you’re doing with the quilting, and I agree it’s the best way with QAYG; just see what the block asks for. 5 QAYG quits on, the only caution I’d offer is that if you quilt any block much more densely than the others, the shrinkage will be noticeably greater and your block will be smaller. I’m sure you’ve allowed extra for this, but it would mean you see more sashing on that particular block. I think yours is still one of my most favourite colour schemes of F2F2!

  2. You’ve obviously put a lot of thought into what you’re going to do so I have no doubt the quilt will turn out beautifully. QAYG is a smart move and I find it an easy method. Have fun and I look forward to the final unveiling. Happy weekend!

    • to be honest, my quilts are sort of made up as I go along lol. Yes I put thought into colours, sashing & backing fabric, but once I get to the quilting stage, things to take on a mind of their own.

  3. This quilt is going to be so amazing when you finish! I get nervous when I’m quilting too, unless I have a plan on paper to urge me on. Which reminds me, I need to pull SS # 3 out and get cracking!

  4. That’s going to be a lovely big quilt! Everyone is finishing these, so I should get busy and work on mine before I become the tail end!

  5. That’s going to look fabulous. I love the idea of QAYG. Quilting is the bit where I get a bit bored and abandon projects half done but I like the idea of doing it a square at a time. I shall watch your progress with interest 🙂

  6. I think your quilting looks absolutely all right! To be a good quilter you just need practicing and that´s what you are doing right now 🙂 So keep on the good work!

Leave a Reply

