such fun!

Since I discovered the joys of crochet, only very recently . . . I’m spending lots of time, having fun with my hook.  I think it’s like with any new thing – I’m feeling so enthusiastic, and I would hook all day if I could!

This post is going to be very full of photos . . . so make yourself a cuppa and continue scrolling.

First of all . . . a photo of the finished owl purses I made just before Easter, using a free tutorial by Moji-Moji Designs.

owl purses x3

I had shown you the purple one finished – he was my first attempt.  I then hooked up two more (on a smaller hook) which were gifted (filled with chocolate coins) as Easter presents.

As with any craft, I am always on the lookout for new supplies . . . and jumped for joy the other week while shopping in our local Noz.  They had a wonderful supply of yarn in.  Noz is a shop where, if you don’t grab it when you see it, it won’t be there next time.  So . . .

Noz buys 01

Noz buys 02

Noz buys 03

Noz buys 04

And, of course, I had to prove to hubbie that all of this was absolutely necessary, and not just an excuse to over-shop . . . so . . .

beanie 3

beanie 3 zoom

This beanie is for me.  I followed the myboshi pattern and it literally only took a couple of hours to make.  I love the way the yarn changes colour so subtly.

Something less subtle . . .

rainbow swatch

This was just a practice swatch to see how colours changed with this yarn, and to mess around practicing different stitches.  I reckon it’ll look a lot nicer when hooked in the round, and colour changes will give a more striped effect rather than splodges . . . so more beanies to come.  No idea if anyone would actually wear a beanie in this yarn, but what the heck!  I’m having fun.

And . . . even though chunky yarn is fun, and quick to work with . . . I haven’t forgotten why I wanted to learn to crochet in the first place.

tiger WIP

Am busy working on this project, using Stylecraft DK yarn.  He looks a little spooky at the moment, with a massive head, but I’m confident I’ll end up with something that ressembles the photo.  Roary the Tiger is by A Morning Cup of Jo, and is one of the designs in “Zoomigurumi”.

Zoomi 01

19 thoughts on “such fun!

    • thank you for agreeing on the necessity ^^ Husband isn’t quite so convinced but, he’s showing an interest . . . tells me, if I knit or crochet him a sweater, he’ll wear it lol.

      • Well done, you’ve got him half convinced already! We’re moving to the south of Australia at the end of the year so I’m hoping my husband will want a sweater too in exchange for turning a blind eye to my yarn purchases 😉

  1. What a great find in the year. love that last one you showed! the tiger is going to be really cute when finished.

    • yes tiger is showing lots of promise already. The tricky bit will be crochet those legs and tail because they’re not very big.

Leave a Reply

