slouchy myboshi beanie

Having mastered the art of following a basic crochet pattern, hooking in the round, and managing not to drop or add stitches willy nilly . . . I splashed out and bought a couple of crochet kits.  Splashed out isn’t quite the word, because I snapped up two kits, that were in the Sales half price.  My motto – never pay full price when you can get a bargain.

One of the kits bought was this.  I suspect it was reduced because of the colour, rather than the style.  It’s very red!

IMGP2761

Ref: CR063K.  Kit comes with pattern (in English, French & Italian), 3 x 50g of myboshi yarn, a myboshi label and a 6mm hook.  First impressions . . . hook & yarn are excellent quality.  The pattern . . . claims on the packaging that this is suitable for beginners (of which I am one)  but I felt it could have been written more clearly.

Pattern called for (UK terms) double crochet and half treble.  Also recommended stitching in round, using slip stitch and chain at the end of each round, but I chose to crochet in a spiral (as I’ve learned to do with amigurumi). 

After many false starts (during which I tried to get to grips with the instructions, and then just decided to do it my way) . . . I ended up with

slouchy01

A slouchy beanie . . .

slouchy02

which, in my opinion, looked absolutely HUGE.  I’d followed instructions and crocheted the correct number of rounds.  Beanie was quite a good fit around the head (so I don’t think it was a problem of tension), but there was just too much “slouching” going on.

After modelling on eldest son, who came up for Easter . . . I therefore unravelled 5 rounds and the slouch now looks like this

IMGP2859

Probably a little less of a slouch than in the kit photo . . . but eldest son said this was more like it. You will notice, this isn’t eldest son modelling the beanie.  A shame, because it looked rather good on him.  No, I’ve acquired a head . . . actually a couple of heads lol.

I mentioned to my brother-in-law that I was going to be hooking beanies, and asked if he happened to have a spare dummy head in his garage.  If you knew my brother-in-law, you’d know this request is not strange at all.  He has the wierdest of things in his garage . . . and he just happened to have a head. 

Head which was originally a practice head for apprentice hairdressers . . . but had obviously seen better days because hair was hacked off unevenly.  I got out the electric clippers and shaved everything off.

GI Jane

And GI-Jane is therefore the one to be modelling the slouchy.

However . . . I had also seen some cheap plastic heads on sale on the internet.  Bought one . . . and got a huge surprise when my parcel arrived because seller sent me two for the price of one!

IMGP2876

Two heads are better than one, as they say . . . and three are even better – yay.

IMGP2877

I’m rather pleased with this trio.  They don’t all have the same head circumference.  I’ve placed them in order of size (left to right) so all will come in useful at some point as models.  Yep, you’ve guessed . . . I’m suddenly enthusiastic about beanies!  Adult kids and partners have already been warned (after the Adopt-a-chick scheme) . . . they’ll all be getting beanies for Christmas lol.

