# 4 – amigurumi

amigurumi in progress

I’m feeling more comfortable with my crochet hook, and keeping busy.  I’m finding it a nice portable craft – so easy to pick up my bits and take myself out in the garden for some fresh air and vitamin D. 

As you can see, I was busy with yellow yarn . . . following a pattern in one of the books I treated myself to.

ami book

Yep, I bought myself “My First Crochet Book” which is for kids, but just perfect for a novice hooker like myself.  And here’s amigurumi number 4.

amigurumi chick 02

He doesn’t look quite as egg-shaped as the bird in the book, but I think that’s a question of stuffing.  I am confident I followed the pattern correctly this time and even managed the invisible decrease.    He stands 2” tall.    I followed an example found on Moji-Moji Designs in the links with her free pattern of micro-chicks,  and have sewn a 30mm orange button to act as a base, so he can stand up and I added a few tufts on the top of his head so he’s not completely bald.