“Live Simply” – a finish and a new start

Live simply finished

I’m having a happy dance with a lovely bright piece of stitching.  “Live simply” a Dimensions kit that I snapped up on the sewandso January sale for just over £2.  I can never resist a bright project, and at that price, well . . .

This piece has been stitched with a small patchwork project in mind . . . more on that when I get round to it.

In the meantime, a finish means I was allowed to rummage in my stash drawer in search of a new start.  I’ve gone for something completely different.

Victorian house

Another Dimensions kit: “Victorian Charm”.  This kit was a gift from N and 2nd second son, for Christmas 2015, so it’s been sitting my in stash drawer a while.  I’m a little apprehensive about it.  I have more than 20 years of cross stitching under my belt, so I’m not worried about the details, heaps of colour changes, blending of threads and backstitch . . . it’s the fabric I’m apprehensive about.  Kit comes with 18 count dark navy aida and my eyes aren’t as good as they used to be.  Then again, if I don’t tackle it now, then it’ll sit in the drawer for even longer!  I did contemplate swapping for a lighter aida, but then the night sky won’t be as effective.  So, nevermind about the dark navy . . . I’ll just have to be methodical, and take things slowly.  By my estimation, this could keep me busy probably all through the Spring and the Summer!