SAL update – Unicorn #13

I have a happy dance to share with you . . .

SAL unicorn finish 01

“Unicorn and Maiden” by Joan Elliott is officially finished – yay!  I didn’t quite follow all the backstitch detail; leaving off some metallic stitching on the bottom of gown and maiden’s floral wreath, but I think the seed beads give it enough bling.

SAL unicorn 02

SAL unicorn 04

SAL unicorn 03

I really enjoyed stitching this design, and thank SAL members for their encouragements throughout.  I couldn’t have done it without you.

A finish means a new start for next time . . . Avis and I started thinking about our next SAL project months ago, and are eager to begin.  We’ve decided to work on the same project again (which is how this SAL originally came about) and plumped for another Ink Circles.

CdesT sneak peek

We stitched “Cirque des Cercles” together, a few years ago and this time we’re going to stitch “Cirque des Triangles”.  You can see my “Cirque des Cercles” here, still not framed.  I’ve chosen to stitch CdesT in exactly the same colours.  Threadworx “Wild Poppies” on a 25 count Lugana Forest Green evenweave.

If anyone has “Cirque des Triangles” in their chart stash and fancies joining us – please contact Avis.  Or if anyone simply wants to join in with a different project – contact Avis who is our co-ordinator.

We are quite a large group of ladies, worldwide, working on different needlecraft projects, and showing updates every 3 weeks to keep us all motivated.

You can admire SAL members’ stitching by clicking on the following links.

Avis, Gun, Carole, LucyAnn, Kate, Jess, Sue, Constanze, Debbierose, Christina, SusanP, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, WendyLinda and Catherine.

Next SAL update will be on 19th February.

31 thoughts on “SAL update – Unicorn #13

  1. What patience with all those beads, but it’s totally worth it. Lovely project, happy finish, and now for something completely different. I think the two pieces, the old and new, will make a lovely pair.

  2. Oh dear, both you and Avis having happy dances is making me so want to get back to my proper stitching. A lovely finish and well worth dancing for. I look forward to watching both your new projects growing and I love the look of the Poppy shade you have chosen. Such a different shade to the one Avis has chosen so I know they will look completely different.

    • yes the fun part, when Avis and I stitch the same design, is we never use the same colours so we always end up with totally unique pièces of work.

  3. Hurray! So happy to see those beautiful beads sparkle! Love the detail on the unicorn and her blue eye shadow too 🙂 I didn’t notice that before! This next project looks intense. How long did the circles version take to complete? What size is the new project? I’ve yet to check out Avis’s post, so eager to see the color she chose. Love the yellow though ❤

    • I think we did the Cirque des Cercles in about 10 stages, so should take about the same time for the Triangles . . . so 30 weeks of regular updates if all goes well. I don’t have chart in front of me, but I think stitch count is approx 170 x 240 (but don’t quote me on that).

  4. Wow Claire, that is absolutely stunning. You must be chuffed to bits with it.

    Great to see you doing another Ink Circles design. It was lovely seeing the last one grow 🙂

    • I am pleased Carole. Joan Elliott designs are surprisingly easy to stitch, but they always look very stunning. Am really looking forward to some simple monochrome stitching for a change though.

    • thank you Maia – yes I enjoyed stitching this, once I got back into the swing. Now need to find a frame and get it hanging in my sewing room.

Leave a Reply

