making more use of printed squares

I seem to have accumulated quite a variety of “vignette” prints in my fabric drawers over the years.  Recently, I showed you what I did with some cat prints, making coasters and cushion covers . . . more coasters with dog prints . . . and a sort of “I Spy” quilt with some fun colourful prints. 

Well, I also had these in my stash, in two colourways.  First a green & purple set

thread sorters fabric

and also in turquoise and purple

thread sorters fabric alternative

Rather fabulous, aren’t they?  Anyway, I decided to use the first set . . . cutting out my 6 squares.  My original idea, being to make some pinkeeps, following the tried & trusted method I explain HERE.  However, once I got to the final stage, I changed my mind and added wooden rings to make them into thread sorters.

thread sorters 01

thread sorters 02

Each one has an animal on one side and a ship on the other. 

thread sorters 04

I did blanket stitch around the edges and added my wooden curtain rings as I got to each corner.

thread sorters 05

This one is for me ^^  You’ll have to wait a few days to find out who I sent the others to.

5 thoughts on “making more use of printed squares

Leave a Reply

