pinwheels cot quilt happy dance

Happy dancing here, with a blue pinwheels quilt that I made for baby Zacharie. 

baby pinwheels 04

After making my 12 blocks of pinwheels (making HSTs from 5” squares), using some small bits of printed fabrics (owls and polka dots) I added plain blue sashing and then an outer border in the pale marbled fabric to make things cot-sized.

Then I did the backing, quilting & binding

baby pinwheels 06

for a finished quilt that measures 37” x 46” (94cm x 117cm).

baby pinwheels 07

I did straight line echo quilting, using my walking foot on each block in white thread, and added one of the speciality embroidery stitches at intersections on sashing.  Difficult to see, but it’s a little asterix/daisy.

baby pinwheels 08

Blue isn’t a colour I usually work with, but I started on this project wanting to use the cute little owls, and this solid blue seemed the ideal fabric.  As mentioned in previous article, I’ve made this cot-size, but if parents prefer to simply put it on the floor and use it as a playmat for Zacharie, that’s fine by me. 

20 thoughts on “pinwheels cot quilt happy dance

  1. The blue is lovely. I have lots of blue FQs and pink ones too but don’t find myself using them that often – I’ve noticed the F2F participants don’t go for those sort of colours either – maybe I’m thinking ahead to grandchildren😉

    • I must say, finishing this had me thinking about future grand-children too, but I that period of my life is still years away. None of my kids plan on starting a family just yet, so I’ll continue making gifts for other people’s babies ^^

  2. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Your quilt is wonderful. The colors are fun and cheerful and perfect for a little one to enjoy with staying snug and warm. ~applause~

    • thank you Carole, that’s the second time I’ve added these little embroidery stars at intersections (first time on my Somerset quilt) and it really does add az bit of extra interest as well as securing the sashing so it doesn’t sag.

Leave a Reply

