bargain books

Our local library was selling off some of its old books the other day, to make room on the shelves for some newer ones.  It’s a very small library, but, since there is only a population of approx 1500 (and that’s grouping three villages together, which make up the “commune”), I think we are quite privileged to have a library at all.

I have been reading more and more on my tablet of late, but I do still like reading a REAL book . . . so I went along with an empty tote bag and some coins, to have a rummage.

Came home with

books01

The trilogy “Cryptonomicon” by Neal Stephenson.  I’m not really sure if this is going to be my cup of tea but I’ll give the first one a try.  If I don’t like them, I’ll pass on to my brother-in-law as I’m sure this will be right up his street.

books 02

And four others:  “Lily White” by Susan Issacs; “The Sunbird” by Wilbur Smith; “A Year in Provence” by Peter Mayle and “Parce que je t’aime” by Musso. 

Ladies at the library commented on how I’d chosen mainly anglo-saxon authors ^^  I’d never really thought about it before.  I suppose there must be something about the Anglo-saxon style of writing that appeals to me more.  I usually prefer to read books in the original language, because translations are not always great.  However, my French is 100% fluent, so reading in French isn’t a problem and, of course, the local library doesn’t have an English section so I make do with what I can find.

Anyway, I’ve begun reading “Lily White” and it’s very promising.  Lots of reading material to keep me amused when it gets too hot to stitch over the summer.  And for 1€ per book they were a bargain.

5 thoughts on “bargain books

  1. I found Neal Stephenson a bit, well, dense and over-intricate, and I *like* the genre. I haven’t tried these. I think A Year in Provence will amuse you, as he’s an entertaining writer and gives lovely descriptions of the countryside and their adventures in ‘becoming locals’.

Leave a Reply

