“satin de coton” tunic

Temperatures have suddenly rocketed in our part of France.  I don’t know exactly how hot it’s been, but the mercury shot up to 45°C the other day in the veranda, although I realise that’s behind glass, and official temperatures are always taken in the shade.  I’m guessing it’s been in the low 30s and it’s no doubt going to get a whole lot warmer.

I don’t like the heat, but I was rather glad of the opportunity to float around in the cotton dress I made earlier this year. So wonderfully cool.  And I’ve decided I need more cool clothes for my summer wardrobe so . . . off I went to sew.

satin coton tunic 05

I wanted to use this pattern again: NewLook 6086.  I made tunic A last month out of an old quilt cover, and I really like the style.  It’s a very easy pattern, so I increased the difficulty by using a “satin de coton” I bought last year.  It was a bargain buy, of 1 metre for 4€ (that’s £3 or $4.55US).  1 metre was all I needed.

The difficulty for me, as a novice seamstress, was working with the very fine, slippery fabric . . . and in order not to have any issues with fraying on the inside, I set to work with French seams.  My first attempt at French seams and, I have to say, I love them!  They give such a neat finish and I honestly found them easy to do, rather than worrying about zigzagging or overlocking my edges.  And on a side-note . . . in French, a French seam is called a “couture à l’anglaise” lol.

satin coton tunic 04

This is a photo of the wrong side, with a French seam going down the back (can’t see it terribly well, but it’s there).

satin coton tunic 03

A close up of the binding.  I made my own binding, out of the same fabric, for neckline and armholes.  And this time, I followed the pattern, folding completely to the inside.

satin coton tunic 06

satin coton tunic01

It’s one of the easiest patterns you’ll probably find on the market. Only 3 pattern pieces: 1 front and 2 for the back.  The only “fiddly” bit – there are slits up both sides, which begin at hip-bone level.

I love my new tunic which is going to be wonderfully cool to wear this summer.  I don’t think I could have bought something as nice for only 4€ ^^   Next project is to run up a pair of grey cotton trousers to wear with it . . . it’s going to be too warm for jeans.  However, I might play around with some more print fabric first and make myself another floaty dress.  Stay tuned to find out ^^

25 thoughts on ““satin de coton” tunic

  1. A nice pair of wide leg pants would be wonderfully cool with this, or a fitted cropped pair. You realise you’re making my summer wardrobe – same pieces, same sort of fabrics? Beautiful French seams, by the way, you’ve made a lovely job of it.

    • trousers are underway, but they’re going to be 3/4 length ^^
      And lol . . . with the memory of last summer still fresh in my mind, and a really long, hot summer (we had temps in the high 30s here last year) I am determined to be prepared this year. I’ve bought in loads of 100% cotton and hope to run up at least 2 more tunics, 2 more pairs of trousers and 2 more dresses. Then . . . once I’m feeling confident and have a summer wardrobe, I’ll probably tackle more complicated patterns, requiring zips etc, and try my hand at an autumn wardrobe with heavier fabrics.

      • You’ve definitely got the right idea, and zips aren’t nearly as tricky as people think, so long as you have the right foot for your machine. Same with buttonholes. You can do it!

    • you just have to cut strips at a 45° angle across the grain and then sew them all together ^^ Not difficult. Then you fold those strips in half, width ways, and iron . . . and then place raw edge to raw edge and sew on like you would with shop-bought binding. I cut my strips 1.5″ wide, so that gave me 3/4″ when folded.

    • exactly! I thought they were something for advanced sewers, but they’re incredibly easy to do, and make things so much neater inside

    • I’m learning, and having so much fun I now wonder why I waited so many years to try clothes making. It’s such fun! Almost addictive.

      • Isabel, the thing is . . . I loathe clothes shopping. I rarely see anything I like in clothes shops (although I’m a normal, average size so can shop anywhere) and when I do, I usually take one look at the price tag and consider things are too expensive for what they are. The only thing I will happily buy are jeans, because I live and die in those most of the time. However . . . set me loose in a fabric shop, or let me browse at fabric on-line . . . and I could spend a fortune lol.

      • I was planning to learn to knit and crochet this year – even bought myself some yarn and patterns – because I would love to be able to make myself a nice cardie . . . maybe I’ll get around to that next year ^^

Leave a Reply

