“time for teal” contribution

Earlier this year, Kate announced her intention to make a charity quilt (maybe several)  to help raise money for ovarian cancer.  She also said that if any patchworkers wanted to join in and make a few blocks, they would be more than welcome, so I signed up.

OvarianCancerAwarenessRibbon

Blocks need to be in different shades of teal, which is the colour of the ovarian cancer ribbon, on a cream or light beige background, and 12.5” square (unfinished).

Here’s what I made

claire carre

An “Oh Susannah” block (this one is actually my second attempt because the first one didn’t quite come out to the correct size) and

claire_carre1

A pinwheel block – because I didn’t want to see my little triangles from the first blocks go to waste ^^

If you’d like to join in and make a contribution, you can find out more, and contact Kate on her blog here: Tall Tales from Chiconia.

23 thoughts on ““time for teal” contribution

    • the pinwheel one only happened because I messed up my first block, and then I had loads of triangles that I didn’t want to waste ^^

      • oh goodie, you’re going to start patchwork? you won’t regret it.
        I have a 24″ x 18″ self-Healing cutting board and I would say that’s a good size to start with.
        I have two rotary cutters: both “Olfa” by Prym. One is 28mm the other is 45mm. I tend to do most cutting with the 28mm one because I rarely cut through more than 2 or 3 thicknesses of fabric at a time.
        You’ll also need a grid ruler. I have two of those. Both “Omnigrid”. The first one I bought is 6″ x 12″ and was great to start out with, but then I also bought a 6″ x 24″ because otherwise it’s almost impossible to cut long strips accurately. I use both of these rulers on a daily basis.
        Buying the first essential tools is something of an investment, but cutting board, rotary cutter and grid ruler are 3 items you simply cannot do without.
        Hope that helps ^^

      • you’ll be able to make a healthy savings with your coupon.
        I look forward to seeing you take your first steps. If you have any questions, please do feel free to ask. I started patchwork only a couple of years ago, so I don’t consider myself an expert, but I have learned some useful tips along the way.

  1. Thank you for helping bring awareness to this important subject. Woman don’t always know about this cancer or the symptoms, which are easily overlooked. Praying that all woman with any symptoms get checked out as soon as possible. I am an ovarian cancer survivor!!

    • too true. I myself didn’t know much about this cancer, but have researched a little and make sure I spread the info amongst friends.

Leave a Reply

