sleeping mask

I’m not quite sure if “sleeping mask” is the right word, but that’s what I was making the other day.  Second son’s girlfriend, N, has recently changed jobs and is now working unsociable hours: from 4am – 8am.  This means she has had to adjust to an odd sleeping pattern and sleeps during the day when the rest of the world is up.

N mentioned to me that once asleep, she’s fine, but that it’s not always easy falling asleep, even with curtains drawn, because of the daylight showing through. I therefore came up with the idea of making a simple mask, rather like the ones airline companies hand out, to help block out the light.

IMGP0732

I wanted it to be as light-weight as possible, and also as soft against the skin as possible.  So . . . I used a piece of fun print fabric and a piece of very soft, fine fleece for the backing.  I sewed those two fabrics together with some dense straight line quilting, and then added biais binding to finish off the raw edges.

IMGP0733

Not sure how tight to make the elastic, I have added a longer length than necessary, just knotted at the ends, so N can adjust to fit comfortably, reknot and cut to her head size.

And, of course, I just had to model it before sending, to make sure it does the job.

mask

It does Rire.  I suppose if N doesn’t like it for sleeping, she can always use it to play a game of Blind Man’s Buff ^^

9 thoughts on “sleeping mask

  1. They work brilliantly! The Husband does 4 days shifts followed by 4 night shifts, and has to sleep from 3am until about 10am and then 2pm until 4pm on his night shift days. You can imagine the havoc it wreaks with his sleep patterns, so he loves the eye mask I made for him. I think Mlle N will enjoy having your lovely gift to help her drop off.

Leave a Reply

