what Claire made for Christmas #2

Around Hallowe’en, I showed you a pinwheel project I had begun using Timeless Treasures glow in the dark fabrics . . . but I never showed a finished project.  You may have thought it got abandoned, but I assure you, it didn’t.

The reason you saw no more . . . I was making a Christmas present:  a small quilt for Nic, second son’s girlfriend.

spooky 09

This is, I think, one the photos I showed you, while in the making . . . pinwheel blocks then progressed to

IMGP0416

Nic before finish

This was my first attempt at adding corner stones with my sashing.  Adds a bit more interest.  However, it also made life more difficult when it came to quilting – what was nicely pieced and lined up, got pulled out of shape during the quilting but I won’t zoom in on the bad bits.

Nic finished 01

Nic finished 02

I used the red spider & web fabric for binding just to liven things up a little.

Anyway, there you have it!  One Hallowe’en, spooky, glow in the dark quilt.  Finished size 42” x 52”.  I’m still not feeling up to tackling anything bigger.

11 thoughts on “what Claire made for Christmas #2

  1. It’s lovely! I didn’t zoom in on anything wonky, but you may want to reduce the pressure of your presser foot a tad when you’re quilting, it tends to prevent tucks and rucks in the top fabric because the foot isn’t shovelling the fabric ahead of it.

  2. Gorgeous pinwheels your a pro. The quilting is difficult. While fabric and wadding seem similar, I do a test piece, sometimes getting tension just right takes s little time. I didn’t zoom in, it looks amazing. Well done

    • thank you Kate ^^ they’re far from perfect, in fact lol, but the quilt was much appreciated and it’s the imperfections that make it unique ^^

  3. I love pinwheels. And your lovely quilt has inspired to think about getting back to doing more of my own. I can relate to the frustrations of working on the quilting itself. I’m dealing with that on my current project. However, if mine looks as good as yours does when I finish, I’ll be very happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

