a conspicuous cat cushion

The other week I said I had been busy with some secret sewing . . . and today I can reveal one of those projects.  The sneak peek photo I showed you was this (the rest was all done before my shoulder trouble)

cats 01

I was given those cat fabric squares at a patchwork club I belonged to, before our move, and originally began to add bands to make something with a 3D effect.  Then the house move happened, they got stuffed in a drawer . . . and in between, I had moved onto machine sewing rather than piecing by hand.

When I came across these squares again, I didn’t like my initial choice of colour at all. Blue and cream – much too drab!  So, I picked out two orange fabrics, and set to work to make something with these cats.

cats 02

That’s much more to my liking ^^  . . . and after that, some fun with Juki and quilting

cats 05

cats 06

and a very conspicuous cushion cover (which is square but I seem to have taken photo from a wierd angle)

IMGP9906

IMGP9910

This was made for second son and his girlfriend as a ‘’”thank you” present – they know why ^^

17 thoughts on “a conspicuous cat cushion

  1. Claire! This is absolutely fant-ab-u-lous!!! I love the cat designs and complementary fabric for the pillow. The stitching is superb and I love the pattern you chose (arches)…I just can’t ‘gush’ enough over this post! Love it!!!!

    • I went a little “wild” on this one, but I thought the zany cats could take it, and I am really pleased with how it turned out

Leave a Reply

