happy dancing with a blue D9P cushion

Looking in my calendar the other day, I realised that 5th September was my sister-in-law’s birthday.  And not just any old birthday . . . oh no, it was the day she turned 50.  An excellent excuse (as if I needed one) to have a sewing session with Juki.

I decided to make a block I feel comfortable with . . . a Disappearing 9 Patch, so cut out my 5” squares and assembled thus

D9P blue01

Sliced into quarters thus

D9P blue02

and OH NO !!!!! my rotary cutter slipped, cutting about 1/8th of an inch off the line Confus  so I had to square things up, try to hide my mistake, and make do, thus

D9P blue03

Luckily, I think the prints on fabrics are busy enough to detract the eye from the fact that some squares are no longer square . . . so I carried on with assembly, and a few hours later, I was happy dancing.

D9P blue 04 (2)

White around the edge, to keep things bright . . . with a solid, heavy weight turquoise on the back, and my usual velcro fastening.

D9P blue 05

I’m really kicking myself about the cutting slip up, but these things happen.  I’ll have to be more careful next time.

16 thoughts on “happy dancing with a blue D9P cushion

Leave a Reply

