this, that, fried eggs, and pinwheels

I seem to be walking around these days with my camera in one pocket and an egg in the other lol.  After the more edible things I showed you yesterday . . . something purely ornamental

blossom

This (I think) is a Japanese  tree. I do know we’ve had it quite a few years, it lives in a large plant pot, and it came with us when we moved from the previous house. I do also know that it doesn’t produce fruit, just the most delicate blossom.  And look at those blue skies behind!  Who’d have thought we’re only in April?

Now for that . . .

books

Before I embark on any new adventure, I like to document myself first.  This is why I invested in several books on the subject of hens.  The one in English, by Suzie Baldwin is excellent.  Very well-written, informative and with loads of lovely photos.  I have learned that it takes around 24-26 hours for a hen to “make” an egg.  From the formation, the making of the shell using the calcium supply she found in her food, and the actual laying it takes a healthy hen approximately one day.  Obviously, not all hens lay one egg a day, and when they do, they don’t do it 365 days of the year (imagine what a lot of work that would be!).  They generally take a rest several times a year and it’s only those in their prime that can keep up the (almost) one egg a day pace, and then only for a year – by which time they are called “spent hens”.

Now I found this very interesting because our three girls have started off really really well.  It means the eggs they began laying on Friday were “made” here!  So that means they’re happy and getting the right food. Miranda and Miss Marple win a gold star because they both laid an egg a day, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.  Miss Moneypenny decided Tuesday was a rest day.  So three hens, and 8 eggs in only 3 days.  I am impressed.

Another interesting thing (or at least I thought it was fascinating lol) . . . I fried two eggs for lunch yesterday (a Miranda egg and a Miss Moneypenny egg). I was expecting yolks to be the same colour, since my books say yolk colour depends on diet, and my girls are on the same diet.

frying

But yolks are not the same yellow ^^  Also, what I found interesting was how the “white”  (I like mine still slightly runny on top, you’ll notice) actually kept its shape (well almost) during cooking.  I guess that’s because they were mega-fresh?  With shop-bought eggs, the white just seems to run all over the pan before it starts to set.

Anyway, these were yummy on hot buttered toast.  They both tasted the same, and although there was almost a 10g difference in egg weight, I couldn’t honestly see much of a difference once cooked.

And, now for some pinwheels . . . (mustn’t forget the crafting, eh?)

IMGP8661

I have finished my sashing and added a 2” band around the edge to give myself something to grab on to while quilting. In this photo, my top is draped over a cushion to give you an idea of what it will look like when finished.  It could be a while though before I show you the finished cushion cover.  Quilting is the part I dread the most, so I’ll be procrastinating and probably starting other projects before this one gets finished.

10 thoughts on “this, that, fried eggs, and pinwheels

  1. Love your beautiful pink Prunus, all those lavish double blooms. What a treat. And your lunch of exceptionally fresh eggs looks delicious too. So, you need to finish your cushion so you can lean back on it while you eat your eggs and glance out of the window at your cherry blossom!

  2. Claire, it’s always a pleasure to read about ‘the girls’. 🙂 Your cushion cover is quite lovely … I like the sashing between the blocks (very clever) and the colours are so lovely together.

    • sashing isn’t terribly lined up ^^ but I’m copying Avis for inspiration :d She often uses lots of white and her quilts always look so fresh & crisp.

  3. It is fun to read about your chickens. Most of our egg yolks are a dark orange. We have learned that comes from eating more “greens” like grass clippings, salad scraps, and such. During the summer they are particularly dark because they get lots of garden scraps. My Astralorps laid an egg pretty much every day for the first year and now only lay about once a week. It would be tempting to add a couple more younger ones into my flock again.

    • I haven’t started giving mine anything apart from laying pellets & oyster shells yet. Breeder told me to wait 3 weeks before we started giving them table scraps so, because I’m beginner, I’m doing as told ^^. However, they can now scratch and eat grass, weeds, insects, in the very small enclosure. And probably in a weeks time, we’ll let them have more room to roam in the “park”.

Leave a Reply

