three big hens

I’m afraid I can’t show you photos of my new girls, who I picked up this afternoon . . . the breeder told me to put them in the coop, with food & water, and leave them in peace & quiet for 48 hours while they settle.  I’m following instructions, although I have opened the little hatch just in case one is adventurous enough to want to look outside. For the moment, no, they’re happy to stay indoors. 

This means, I can’t take any photos, but I assure you, the hen house now has three very plump tenants.

IMGP8625

One of whom has already laid an egg ^^  Yay!  The “girls” were very calm and quiet during the car drive home. Not really stressed at all.  A few clucks to punctuate the journey, and when I opened the travel boxes, I found this

1st egg

not the egg cup, obviously lol, but our first egg! 

Perfectly formed, somewhat speckled and very pale compared to the shop-bought eggs I have in my fridge

1st egg comparison

but it will be the taste of what’s inside that counts !

Stay tuned, I hope to be able to do an official introduction very soon.

8 thoughts on “three big hens

    • our first egg looks a little small in the eggcup, but maybe they get bigger the more they lay ^^ Or maybe size dépends on the hens.

  1. Congratulations on the egg! First ones are typically smaller but get larger depending on the hen. I agree with Storm’s Stitches! There is nothing like fresh eggs. We love ours and miss them when they aren’t laying as many. I’m curious as to what breed of hens you brought home.

    • I just have normal run-of-the-mill laying hens Susan, nothing “racey” like an Orpington or anything. Girls still don’t want to risk poking a beak out the hatch, so we’ll have to be patient for photo shoot.

  2. The eggs do get larger as the hens get older, but past about 2-3 years, the output drops quite a lot. Your breeder is right, they need to learn where their safe place is, and that this is where they go at night. I’ve always kept my young pullets shut in the hen house for the first 3 days and it seems to do the trick. Also, shell colour is down to breed, and yolk colour is down to diet. Some hens lay pure white eggs, but on a free range diet the yolks are a beautiful dark orangey yellow and the flavour is brilliant.

    • thanks for that info Kate. For the moment, they’re staying in their safe place. Not one courageous enough even to poke her beak out the hatch lol.

Leave a Reply

