a girl can never have too many . . .

This phrase, depending on who you are, could be ended with . . . pairs of shoes  but in my case, it’s a question of sewing machines.  Not that I actually have too many Rire 

I have my cheapo SilverCrest that I bought from Lidl a few years ago, for something like 60€

silvercrest

I haven’t even tried all the different stitches it can supposedly do, because all I really ask of a machine is to let me sew in a straight line (more or less) and occasionally use the zig-zag (yep my seamstress skills stop about there!).  However, this is the machine I’ve been using for my FMQ (stippling is all I’ve attempted so far).  The SilverCrest is so basic that you can’t even lower the feed-dogs but it comes with a plastic plate that clips over and solves the problem. With my darning foot, it gets the job done.

I have also been “looking after” Lindashee’s sewing machine for a couple of years.  She lives in a small bed-sit and, with studies, has neither the time nor the space to do any sewing. When she left home, her machine was left behind too. It’s another bottom-of-the-range machine.  This one cost us around 90€ in Carrefour (large French hypermarket) if I remember correctly

carref

It has the same amount of stitch options as my SilverCrest (again, none of which I’ve ever used) and is the machine I have been using for general sewing and my straight line quilting.  I don’t even bother using the plastic cache on this, to avoid the worry of feed-dogs (which can’t be lowered on this machine either). I don’t even use a walking foot  . . . just my little rod in place for spacing, and away I go.

This machine, however, is not mine, although I have been free to use it.  So really, I only had ONE machine.  I now officially have TWO Rire 

This “new” machine is actually an old one. It belonged to mother-in-law (but as I mentioned in previous post, all her sewing things have come to me).  Today, I decided to get it out the case, and have a closer look. 

primula

It’s an ELNA Primula 310 another very basic machine.  Elna still make sewing machines, of course, but even their modern basic machines have more bells and whistles than this Primula ^^  It actually has even less possible stitches on it than the two I’ve been using (but it does have straight lines and zig-zag, so I’ll be fine lol).  It’s a machine that has “lived” and probably stitched around the world at least once during its life-time. 

Anyway, I switched it on and had a little play today, just experimenting on some scraps to see what happens when I turn the various knobs.  It’s incredibly quiet when compared to the two I’m used to and whirs like a dream.  It also has the optional button to lower the feed-dogs!  So how about that??? 

I must be honest and admit that I have been drooling over sewing machines – the super-dooper ones with large throats, quilting options and all.  My husband, who caught me slobbering, did ask if I would like a more up-market machine but I replied “not for the moment” (never say no lol).  Maybe one day, but for the moment I’m happy to sew on what I have and learn as I go.

One thought on “a girl can never have too many . . .

Leave a Reply

