January Mystery SAL and a happy dance

Photos to show you Mystery SAL updates – the SAL I am following on Hélène & Mahélia’s blog.  Now, Hélène said there were only two compulsory colours for this SAL: a “not too dark grey” and a “bright orange”.  For the other four colours, she said to use what we fancy.  Now this is all well and good, but when you have no idea what it is you’re stitching, it’s rather like trying to button up your cardie in the dark lol. 

On the chart, stage 2 was in green . . . but I decided to go with a pinky/purple

Claire SAL JAN 2

fair enough.  However stage 3 was for the compulsory orange . . . so now it looks like

Claire SAL JAN 3

Is that an orange beak and eyes?  And if yes, what on earth is the other bit of orange?  I’ll have to be patient and wait for stage 4 I guess ^^

However, I do have another Hélène & Mahélia design to show you, so carry on reading.  Not only does Hélène generously organise these SALs, but she also sends a limited edition free chart to stitchers who complete her SALs and send in photos of their finished stitchings!  In October, you may remember, I completed the Mystery and finished off thus

SAL oct

I received the free chart and stitched that quite quickly, but it took me until yesterday to decide how to finish it off.  And here’s what I made

IMGP8025

This is the first time I’ve made a little pouch using this technique so it was a learning curve ^^  I used three 10” squares of fabric: one for the fabric front & back, one for the lining and one for the binding.

IMGP8029

IMGP8028

It’s a little wonky in places, but I really enjoyed making it and will not hesitate to try this technique again.

6 thoughts on “January Mystery SAL and a happy dance

  1. That definitely looks like a bird. From the first photo it brought to mind a bird on a narrow twig or telephone wire.
    The pouch is lovely and a great idea to use up smaller stitches 🙂

Leave a Reply

