more pretty xmas mail

Are Christmas cards arriving fast and furious in your letter box?  They are in mine ^^  I love receiving mail, and Christmas seems to inspire many people to make their own cards, which makes the opening of envelopes even more exciting.

Bea (who is a really talented card-maker) sent me the most gorgeous card

IMGP7853

it’s all embossed, and has a real olde worlde feel to it.  So subtle, and yet so “wow”!

I was also so pleased to receive a cross stitched card from my sister.  She is the one who got me into cross stitch, around 20 years ago now, but sadly she has very little time for crafts these days and literally packed all her supplies up years ago, never to be touched again . . . or so I thought Sourire

IMGP7856

She obviously decided to make an exception for me ^^ I do hope this means she’s got the stitching bug back, and will find time in 2015 to work on other projects.

Ghislaine, one of my ex-English students, sent me a lovely card too, wishing us a merry first Christmas in our new home

IMGP7855

And Cathy, aka Margilau, sent me a very feline card, and some lovely bookmarks.  Three are perfumed – really lovely.

IMGP7854

Today was a day away from home, visiting MIL, sorting out medication, future hospital appointments and generally making sure she was okay.  On the way home, we stopped off at a DIY shop (hubbie needed something urgently) and I picked up two cushion inserts.  I have plans (maybe unrealistic, but we’ll see) of finishing two cross stitch pieces into cushion covers as xmas presents.  Always the optimist, that’s me ^^

However, my sewing room which looked like this yesterday at 7pm

IMGP7846

looked like this by 11pm last night (photo taken this morning which explains the daylight lol).

IMGP7857

Okay so it’s not brilliant BUT I have a sewing machine, a table, a stool . . . my fabrics are in those plastic drawers, I know where my reels of thread are  . . . it might not be properly set up but I reckon I can whizz up a couple of cushions in there between now and Christmas!

4 thoughts on “more pretty xmas mail

Leave a Reply

