getting ready for Christmas and trying something new

As my regular readers know, I try to stitch on some small projects throughout the year so that I have a little stash of Xmas decorations ready by the end of the year.  I also like to make use of FREEs that are generously offered on the internet, and am always ready to try something new ^^

That little intro to say that I’ve bought a new pair of pinking shears, and finished off a few small designs I stitched this Spring.  Design is by Clarelis

IMGP7397

And then I stitched another blackwork freebie by Wyrd Byrd

IMGP7390

One version in red, and one in black . . . because I wanted to try something she suggested on her blog.

IMGP7393

She suggested using colouring pencils to colour in parts of the design, so I decided to give it a go.  I think it looks very pretty and makes the design really come to life.  What do you think?

IMGP7394

6 thoughts on “getting ready for Christmas and trying something new

    • just ordinary colouring in pencils. You can use them dry, for a pastel effect, or dampen them, by dipping in water (I licked mine ^^) for a more vibrant effect

  1. Pingback: In the Nick of Time | Storm's Stitches

  2. Pingback: In the Nick of Time | Storm's Stitches

Leave a Reply

