a bit of this that and the other

2013 is almost over . . . and my little brain is already thinking of new projects for 2014 but before beginning anything new there was something I just HAD to finish before Christmas, and I did!  My set of six place mats ^^

purple mats1

I was actually sitting on Christmas Eve, finishing off the hand-sewing of binding so that we could use these for our family dinner . . . and we did.  Nothing fancy – same fabric both front, back AND for the binding, with simple straight quilting but they do the job.

purple mats2

I have a quick cross stitch project to share with you too. Since Avis and I are soon going to be stitching Cirque des Cercles, that had me rummaging through my stash of threads in search of the perfect thread and fabric. I’ve found them, but won’t show you that yet. However, while thread searching, I found my skein of Anchor 1375 and decided I wanted to stitch something quick and cheerful . . . so I printed out a freebie Ink Circles chart, cut a piece of 20 count “lilac” aida and I now have this

celtic knot

I love this rainbow coloured thread – it is so zany.  I’m going to stitch the design a second time and finish off as a biscornu.

Some thank yous are in order today.  Jocelyne, aka La Pie Kikou sent me a beautiful bookmark – I think this is Swiss embroidery, but I’m not sure. 

from La pie xmas 2013

and Monique la Bretonne sent a pressie for me and my daughter – two sets of bookmarks with the 12 months of 2014.  One with photos of beautiful Breton houses and gardens and the other with the artwork of Bernard Morinay.

from monique xmas 2013

So a big thank you ladies.

5 thoughts on “a bit of this that and the other

Leave a Reply

