a merry unbirthday to . . .

. . . to Avis ^^  Yay, yes I wanted to send a little something to my friend Avis who runs two blogs: Oh Sew Tempting and Stitching Beside the Sea. Avis is a very talented lady. Not only does she make the most amazing patchwork quilts, but she also knits and cross stitches. It is thanks to Avis if I plucked up the courage to attempt patchworking with my sewing machine . . . and during recent months, we have been cheering each other along with various blackwork SALs.  We’re currently working on a very large project: Pentacost 2, and having a lot of fun ^^

Anyway, I sent a little something to wish Avis a merry unbirthday . . . and here’s what I sent.

Avis unbirthday1

A “Paris” postcard, some fabric (the Moonlit Sonata collection) and a home-made bookmark.

Avis unbirthday2

I know Avis will get a laugh out of the bookmark ^^  It’s part of the blackwork design we’re stitching together at the moment – although in this case it’s more rainbow work.  The reason:  I wanted to add a second colour to my DMC 333 of Pentacost 2 so I decided to do a bit of trial stitching on a small piece of scrap fabric. I showed Avis, after I’d stitched the mauve, green, orange, red & pink . . . and she said all colours looked lovely and that it would make a nice bookmark lol.  So . . . I continued stitching on my scrap aida . . . and backed with purple felt (because that’s one of Avis’ favourite colours).

You’ll have to be patient to see which colour I have chosen for the “jewel” effect on my Pentacost 2 as I won’t post an update on that until I’ve completed the part two we have set ourselves.

5 thoughts on “a merry unbirthday to . . .

Leave a Reply

