half term holiday resolutions

Today, Monday 20th, is the first day of the fortnight half-term school break. Some people go away, but we’re not as my other half is working, and besides, with 4 cats and one dog, it’s rare for us to take a holiday. Not that I’m complaining because I’d much rather have the pleasure of all my four-legged friends all year round, to keep me company and amuse me with their antics than have a few weeks away each year.

Anyway . . . usually, during the school holidays, days seem to slip by so quickly, and I get into the bad habit of sleeping in, of staying up late, and generally don’t make the most of my free time. So today, I’ve decided I need to make some half-term holiday resolutions and stick to them.

Aside from cross stitch, which will continue per usual (since that’s my evening occupation in front of the TV) I have made myself a list of things I really MUST do . . . and thought if I published the list, for all to see, that it might motivate me to stick to it.

So . . .

My Animal Care correspondance course. Alas, studies have fallen by the wayside (since November in fact) and I have to admit (withc shame) that approximately 18 months after beginning the course I have only competed 24 of the 49 assignments. Aarrgghhhhh.  So my first resolution is to get back on track – complete the module on “Pharmacie des Animaux” and do the complete module on Veterinary Hygiene.  That means a total of 7 assignments so, one every 2 days. It’s perfectly feasible so today I will get cracking.

Next resolution concerns patchwork.  Since I joined the patchwork club in October, I have only really done any patchwork at the club sessions – which means only a few hours each week. If I carry on at this rate, my 9 block quilt project won’t be finished by the end of the year so . . . I need to put in some patchwork time and work on my own. The aim there is to finish off my “Sunbonnet boy” and then make up blocks for “Fan”, “Kaleidoscope” and “Pack of Cards”.  That will mean I only have to finish off my “cottage” and learn how to do a “log cabin” and should be ready to start assembling blovks by Easter.  That’s the plan, anyhow ^^

Third and fourth resolutions are to find some serious sewing machine time.  I have a couple of cross stitch projects waiting to be finished off AND it’s been simply ages since I did any BJD clothes making with my daughter – so plan on ear-marking at least two full afternoons for machine sewing.

My fifth and final resolution is to spend less time just browsing the internet over the next 2 weeks, and keep my Visa card safely hidden ^^  I gave in to temptation the other week, and bought SIX of Isabelle Vautier’s charts.

The complete series of African women, and a monochrome owl.  I don’t regret my buys BUT I am  going to be firm with myself. No new starts until the end of the holidays and I have kept my half-term resolutions.

One thought on “half term holiday resolutions

  1. Good luck on your resolutions Claire. I have a hard time keeping to my resolutions. i made two the beginning of the year and it was not to join many exchanges for it took away from my work on my many, many projects that I have started, and the other one was not to buy as many new patterns and focus on the ones I have already bought. That is working a little bit, the nashville market is this week and I have already ordered two patterns so that is not too bad LOL.
    I know you will do a good job on your resolutions.

Leave a Reply

