Ohio star – the beginnings of my first block

After having completed my pincushion and bobbin holder at patchwork club, I am now ready to move onto the next project ^^

This third project is going to be a wall-hanging, made up of 9 different blocks: 6 geometrical blocks, 2 with a little girl & little boy, and a central block with a house.  I chose my fabric a while back but added an extra colour (the red) because I was told I needed a strong contrasting colour for better effect – so now have my five pieces of fabric nicely matched: printed stars and hearts (both with gold in the fabric) and three “plain” colours: red, beige and ecru.  I am VERY glad I listened to advice from patchworkers and washed my fabric first (washing each piece individually by hand) because the red fabric bled quite a lot.

Because I was having trouble imagining how to mix and match my fabrics, I decided to make a coloured photo copy of some of the fabric, and then cut out triangles and squares, to play around with shapes and patterns. Better to waste paper and printer ink than to cut into precious fabric lol . . . and this is how I see my first block: an Ohio Star.

I have already made good headway with assembly – and have sewn my first two strips.  Patchwork is actually proving to be a good alternative to cross stitch when crafting in front of the TV with a cat ony my lap – what you see in the photo was done over the weekend and I hope to finish my first block at patchwork club on Wednesday and be ready to cut out fabric for the second block.

2 thoughts on “Ohio star – the beginnings of my first block

Leave a Reply

